The special purpose protocols are the set of protocols design to perform a single task on communication network system. Some of these protocols and their function are listed below: 

1. HTTP - Hyper Text Transfer Protocol:

HTTP takes care of the communication between a web server and a web browser. HTTP is used for sending requests from a web client (a browser) to a web server, returning web content (web pages) from the server back to the client.

2. HTTPS - Secure HTTP:

HTTPS takes care of secure communication between a web server and a web browser. HTTPS typically handles credit card transactions and other sensitive data.

3. SSL - Secure Sockets Layer:

The SSL protocol is used for encryption of data for secure data transmission.

4. MIME - Multi-purpose Internet Mail Extensions:

The MIME protocol lets SMTP transmit multimedia files including voice, audio, and binary data across TCP/IP networks.

5. IMAP - Internet Message Access Protocol:

IMAP is used for storing and retrieving e-mails.

6. FTP - File Transfer Protocol:

FTP takes care of transmission of files between computers.

7. NTP - Network Time Protocol:

NTP is used to synchronize the time (the clock) between computers.

8. DHCP - Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol:

DHCP is used for allocation of dynamic IP addresses to computers in a network.

9. SNMP - Simple Network Management Protocol:

SNMP is used for administration of computer networks.

10. LDAP - Lightweight Directory Access Protocol:

LDAP is used for collecting information about users and e-mail addresses from the internet.

11. ICMP - Internet Control Message Protocol:

ICMP takes care of error-handling in the network.

12. ARP - Address Resolution Protocol:

ARP is used by IP to find the hardware address of a computer network card based on the IP address.

13. RARP - Reverse Address Resolution Protocol:

RARP is used by IP to find the IP address based on the hardware address of a computer network card.