How are the epithelial tissues classified?

11 months ago

The epithelial tissues are classified according to the shape of the cells that form it (epithelial cells may be cuboidal, columnar, or squamous) and according to the number of layers in which those  cells are placed in the tissue (into simple or stratified). The main types of epithelial tissues are simple cuboidal, simple columnar, simple squamous, stratified squamous and pseudostratified columnar (resembling more than one layer but actually having only one). There are also stratified cuboidal and stratified columnar epithelia (rare).

Dipti KC
May 25, 2023
More related questions