What are the main divisions of the hypophysis? What are their functions?

1 year ago

The hypophysis is divided into two portions: the adenohypophysis, or anterior hypophysis, and the neurohypophysis, or posterior hypophysis.

In the adenohypophysis two hormones that act directly, the growth hormone (GH) and the prolactin, and four tropic hormones, i.e., hormones that regulate other endocrine glands, the adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH), the thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH), the luteinizing hormone (LH) and the follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) are produced.

The neurohypohysis stores and releases two hormones produced in the hypothalamus, oxytocin and the antidiuretic hormone (ADH, or vasopressin).

Dipti KC
May 25, 2023
More related questions